Presenting AmpliTube 5

AmpliTube 4, AmpliTube Custom Shop, MESA/Boogie®,Orange™, Fender™, Hendrix™, Metal, Ampeg® SVX, Preset XChange, more for Mac/PC

Re: Presenting AmpliTube 5

Postby raylinds » Wed Jan 27, 2021 8:39 pm

I know this has been discussed, but I cannot find a definitive answer. I am interested in the VIR cabinet technology. I have AT4 with a number of purchased cabinet collections like Fender 1 and 2. If I purchase the full AT5 upgrade (but not Max) I know my cabinets will work in AT5 but will it be upgraded to the VIR with 600 IRs per speaker, or are they just used in AT5 with the same IRs as AT4?

Thanks,
Ray
raylinds
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2019 7:02 pm

Re: Presenting AmpliTube 5

Postby Peter_IK » Wed Jan 27, 2021 8:42 pm

raylinds wrote:I know this has been discussed, but I cannot find a definitive answer. I am interested in the VIR cabinet technology. I have AT4 with a number of purchased cabinet collections like Fender 1 and 2. If I purchase the full AT5 upgrade (but not Max) I know my cabinets will work in AT5 but will it be upgraded to the VIR with 600 IRs per speaker, or are they just used in AT5 with the same IRs as AT4?

Thanks,
Ray

If you purchase AmpliTube 5 yes your cabinets will work with the new VIR™ technology.
IK Multimedia. Musicians First.
YouTube - Facebook - Twitter
Need help? Our support team will be happy to help and can be reached at this link.
From the rules: Moderator decisions are not a matter for forum discussion and are final.
User avatar
Peter_IK
Kingpin
 
Posts: 16458
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:40 pm
Location: Everywhere

Re: Presenting AmpliTube 5

Postby lbp2017 » Tue Feb 09, 2021 9:17 am

I currently own AmpliTube 4 Total Studio MAX 2.
In My product page I also have AmpliTube 5 SE showing with a serial number and registered date.
I haven't downloaded 5 as I don't know if this is an automatic upgrade and if 5SE version is better with more features than 4 Total Studio Max 2.

I have always found IK products not being clear with their explanations.
lbp2017
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2017 9:03 am

Re: Presenting AmpliTube 5

Postby DarkStar » Tue Feb 09, 2021 11:37 am

AT5 does not automatically replace AT4 on disk or in your projects. You can have both products installed and, indeed, load both AT4 and AT5 plug-ins into a single DAW project.

AT5 editions (including AT5 SE, but not the free AT5 Custom Shop) do have new features and do sound better. For a comparison, have a look at the Comparison PDF, on a link halfway down the AT5 product web page.

There is also a "What's New" section there.

And, if you do a "Restore my Purchases" in the new Custom Shop, then all of your AT4 gear will be available in AT5 SE too; as upgraded editions. (So the same gear will not sound exactly the same in AT4 and in AT5.)
----------------
DarkStar ... interesting, if true.
Inspired by ...
User avatar
DarkStar
Hero Of The Week (Moderator)
 
Posts: 6524
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Presenting AmpliTube 5

Postby lbp2017 » Tue Feb 09, 2021 11:57 am

Thank you for your response, but why can't existing customer upgrade for a smaller fee to Ampl5, rather than buying Ampl5.

Some DAW products give existing customers chance to upgrade to more advanced product rather than buying the new product for full price.
I can't see any other option with Ampl5 other than buying it and then own both 4 and 5. If there was an option to upgrade to 5 in order to replace 4 it would be a bonus.
lbp2017
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2017 9:03 am

Re: Presenting AmpliTube 5

Postby DarkStar » Tue Feb 09, 2021 12:37 pm

They can. Those who have AT4 can get the AT5 (or AT5 MAX) Upgrade. Look in your User Area / Upgrades & Crossgrades section to see what you qualify for.

But you have said that you already have AT5 SE (was that a bonus included in the TS2 MAX bundle?), so I am not sure what upgrade you mean.

Administrators and Moderators here cannot access your User Area.
----------------
DarkStar ... interesting, if true.
Inspired by ...
User avatar
DarkStar
Hero Of The Week (Moderator)
 
Posts: 6524
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Presenting AmpliTube 5

Postby tommartini604 » Tue Feb 09, 2021 1:11 pm

DarkStar wrote:They can. Those who have AT4 can get the AT5 (or AT5 MAX) Upgrade. Look in your User Area / Upgrades & Crossgrades section to see what you qualify for.

But you have said that you already have AT5 SE (was that a bonus included in the TS2 MAX bundle?), so I am not sure what upgrade you mean.

Administrators and Moderators here cannot access your User Area.


I see what you are saying but like I've posted in other posts there is no real upgrade price. If you log in either as an existing customer or a new customer the prices are identical. The upgrades crossgrades area has the exact same prices as everyone sees. It's something I contacted support about. I agree with another post about there should have been a discounted price for say someone who owns Max 4. It should have been $100 to upgrade it all to Amp 5 not $299. Every other company does that. For instance I upgraded from Studio One 4 to 5 it cost me $99. The original price was $399 when I got 4. It's whatever IK decides, I understand that but I think everyone on these boards is upset that its almost a full priced purchase in reality not a discount for existing customs. My opinion of course and i have no say. I only purchased what i needed. [mod redacted - please review the rules]
tommartini604
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 8:24 pm

Re: Presenting AmpliTube 5

Postby DarkStar » Tue Feb 09, 2021 2:13 pm

tommartini604 wrote:If you log in either as an existing customer or a new customer the prices are identical. The upgrades crossgrades area has the exact same prices as everyone sees. It's something I contacted support about.

Yes, everyone sees the same prices. And anyone can buy an Upgrade / Crossgrade. But if you are a new user and buy an Upgrade / Crossgrade then you would not be able to Authorize it as you would not have a Qualifying Product.

Having said that the presentation of prices could be clearer. I have put forward a suggestion to Support. With prices for:
(a) for new users,
(b) for users with a previous major version of the IKM product (i.e. Upgrade),
(c) for users with another IK Multimedia product listed at 99 or more (i.e. Crossgrade),
(d) for other IK Multimedia product users.
----------------
DarkStar ... interesting, if true.
Inspired by ...
User avatar
DarkStar
Hero Of The Week (Moderator)
 
Posts: 6524
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Presenting AmpliTube 5

Postby Peter_IK » Tue Feb 09, 2021 5:10 pm

The system will not let you buy an upgrade/crossgrade for which you don't qualify. Dealers can, of course, but they should have clear disclaimers about what you need to qualify on their listings. Since they cannot access the IK user accounts directly, they would not be able to verify your qualifications as happens on the IK site.
IK Multimedia. Musicians First.
YouTube - Facebook - Twitter
Need help? Our support team will be happy to help and can be reached at this link.
From the rules: Moderator decisions are not a matter for forum discussion and are final.
User avatar
Peter_IK
Kingpin
 
Posts: 16458
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:40 pm
Location: Everywhere

Re: Presenting AmpliTube 5

Postby Peter_IK » Tue Feb 09, 2021 5:15 pm

Also, some seem to miss the "Starting from..." text that is shown on the IK site. That, and the greyed out options for which new users don't qualify show that there absolutely is a better pricing for those who are not brand new users.
IK Multimedia. Musicians First.
YouTube - Facebook - Twitter
Need help? Our support team will be happy to help and can be reached at this link.
From the rules: Moderator decisions are not a matter for forum discussion and are final.
User avatar
Peter_IK
Kingpin
 
Posts: 16458
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:40 pm
Location: Everywhere

Re: Presenting AmpliTube 5

Postby lbp2017 » Tue Feb 09, 2021 8:10 pm

tommartini604 wrote:
DarkStar wrote:They can. Those who have AT4 can get the AT5 (or AT5 MAX) Upgrade. Look in your User Area / Upgrades & Crossgrades section to see what you qualify for.

But you have said that you already have AT5 SE (was that a bonus included in the TS2 MAX bundle?), so I am not sure what upgrade you mean.

Administrators and Moderators here cannot access your User Area.


I see what you are saying but like I've posted in other posts there is no real upgrade price. If you log in either as an existing customer or a new customer the prices are identical. The upgrades crossgrades area has the exact same prices as everyone sees. It's something I contacted support about. I agree with another post about there should have been a discounted price for say someone who owns Max 4. It should have been $100 to upgrade it all to Amp 5 not $299. Every other company does that. For instance I upgraded from Studio One 4 to 5 it cost me $99. The original price was $399 when I got 4. It's whatever IK decides, I understand that but I think everyone on these boards is upset that its almost a full priced purchase in reality not a discount for existing customs. My opinion of course and i have no say. I only purchased what i needed. [mod redacted - please review the rules]


This. I owned Ableton live 9 free version that came with interface, then for free upgraded to 10. Then at a fraction of the full price I upgraded to 10 live standard. I'm not prepared to pay full price to get extra minute items with 5.
lbp2017
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2017 9:03 am

Re: Presenting AmpliTube 5

Postby Peter_IK » Wed Feb 10, 2021 12:20 am

AmpliTube 4 MAX to AmplITube 5 MAX gives you not only the new gear in AmpliTube 5 as well as the brand new features, the thousands of IRs, but over $600 in collections that have been released since AmpliTube 4 MAX.

I understand you want that free or cheap but... You're getting more than $600 in collections, the value of the new AT5 gear, AND a brand new engine with VIR™ technology, and more for a steal. There's a lot that you are getting for only 299.99 upgrade pricing.

If you don't want or need those collections - or if you picked them up along the way, you're welcome to upgrade to SE (which lacks the new AmpliTube 5 gear) or 5 standard (if you want that new gear too) at lower price points.
IK Multimedia. Musicians First.
YouTube - Facebook - Twitter
Need help? Our support team will be happy to help and can be reached at this link.
From the rules: Moderator decisions are not a matter for forum discussion and are final.
User avatar
Peter_IK
Kingpin
 
Posts: 16458
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:40 pm
Location: Everywhere

Re: Presenting AmpliTube 5

Postby Peter_IK » Wed Feb 10, 2021 12:22 am

And note that price is going up after this month. It has been extended as a courtesy, but it is a great value that many have been able to take advantage of but it will end soon.
IK Multimedia. Musicians First.
YouTube - Facebook - Twitter
Need help? Our support team will be happy to help and can be reached at this link.
From the rules: Moderator decisions are not a matter for forum discussion and are final.
User avatar
Peter_IK
Kingpin
 
Posts: 16458
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:40 pm
Location: Everywhere

Re: Presenting AmpliTube 5

Postby lbp2017 » Wed Feb 10, 2021 12:30 am

I never said I wanted it free, but there's not much info on upgrading other than getting the whole lot replacing older version. anyway, thanks for response.
lbp2017
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2017 9:03 am

Re: Presenting AmpliTube 5

Postby micdim » Wed Feb 10, 2021 3:47 pm

1. Can I delete AmpliTube 4 plugin and Standalone after upgrading to AmpliTube 5? Will all my settings still be in AmpliTube 5?
2. Also should I Un-Authorize AmpliTube 4, because I'm not using it?

Thanks and great upgrade!!!
micdim
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:42 pm

PreviousNext

Return to AmpliTube Guitar Amp & FX modeling