Cannot Import any files

The SampleTank Editor is provided without direct support. However this IK user forum is available for users to share questions and solutions.

Cannot Import any files

Postby simmo75 » Thu Mar 12, 2020 7:16 pm

Hello, I'm unable to import any samples or icons, actually cannot do anything that involves files. Any ideas?
simmo75
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 4:32 am

Re: Welcome, SampleTank 4 Editor users!

Postby Jann_X » Thu Mar 12, 2020 9:22 pm

simmo75 wrote:Hello, I'm unable to import any samples or icons, actually cannot do anything that involves files. Any ideas?


It is really easy and works great. You click the "Add Samples" button at the top of the screen to automap your source samples. Add the icon link on the Instruments tab (Instrument Icon), and create a library icon with the "Create Library" function. Have a look at the manual, that's where I found this stuff.

Cheers,
Jann
Jann_X
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2020 9:19 pm

Re: Welcome, SampleTank 4 Editor users!

Postby Burillo » Fri Mar 13, 2020 12:11 am

Jann_X wrote:
simmo75 wrote:Hello, I'm unable to import any samples or icons, actually cannot do anything that involves files. Any ideas?


It is really easy and works great. You click the "Add Samples" button at the top of the screen to automap your source samples. Add the icon link on the Instruments tab (Instrument Icon), and create a library icon with the "Create Library" function. Have a look at the manual, that's where I found this stuff.

Cheers,
Jann

i can't add any samples at all. i've even duplicated the exact sample name format they expect, and it just says "no samples found".
Burillo
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 10:46 pm

Re: Welcome, SampleTank 4 Editor users!

Postby Jann_X » Fri Mar 13, 2020 3:20 pm

Burillo wrote:i can't add any samples at all. i've even duplicated the exact sample name format they expect, and it just says "no samples found".


Check page 10 of the manual where it tells you how to set up the disk path for the editor. If your samples are not in the disk path, maybe this is the problem? Here is what they say:

The Editor has its own disk path for your Samples and Instruments, separate from the SampleTank 4 disk path. This is needed because the Editor works with different file formats than SampleTank 4, and the files from the Editor must be “exported” to work with SampleTank 4.

Select Preferences from the SampleTank Editor application menu to set the content path in the Content Settings section. The Editor content path can be set just about anywhere your computer can access it, but the most reliable way to configure it is to create a folder called “SampleTank Editor” on a fast external hard disk with plenty of available storage.

Then inside this folder, create separate subfolders for “Instruments” and “Samples.” All of the Samples for your Libraries must be placed in the Samples folder in the Content Path with separate subfolders for each Library and then additional subfolders within each Library folder for each Element you wish to create.


Cheers,
Jann
Jann_X
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2020 9:19 pm


Return to SampleTank 4 Editor