Sampletank 4 and Roland TD-20 sound module

Hammond B-3X, Syntronik, Syntronik Deluxe, SampleTank, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, SampleTron 2, and all Powered by SampleTank instruments and sounds for Mac/PC

Sampletank 4 and Roland TD-20 sound module

Postby Usmcdevildog2112 » Tue Apr 06, 2021 1:56 am

Can someone help or direct me to help for hooking up Sampletank 4 with Roland TD-20 sound module. I can get sound from my 3 Roland V-Drums and 2 triggers via TD-20. I can get sounds from Sampletank 4 to play off my pc. How do I get my V-drums to trigger the sounds in Sampletank 4?
Usmcdevildog2112
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2021 1:51 am

Re: Sampletank 4 and Roland TD-20 sound module

Postby Peter_IK » Tue Apr 06, 2021 5:08 pm

Most drum brains will transmit over MIDI channel 10 by default. You should try to set one of the the SampleTank 4 kits to that channel in the interface. Then you would likely need to remap your triggers in the kit to trigger the different elements of the kit correctly via whichever MIDI note corresponds in SampleTank 4, I'm not sure how to do that specifically on a Roland brain. I do believe you have that customization option available to you though.
IK Multimedia. Musicians First.
YouTube - Facebook - Twitter
Need help? Our support team will be happy to help and can be reached at this link.
From the rules: Moderator decisions are not a matter for forum discussion and are final.
User avatar
Peter_IK
Kingpin
 
Posts: 17534
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:40 pm
Location: Everywhere

Re: Sampletank 4 and Roland TD-20 sound module

Postby Usmcdevildog2112 » Wed Apr 07, 2021 1:29 am

Thank you for your response. I appreciate it. Being that this is my first attempt at MIDI, your answer sounds like it will solve my problem. Something (either ST4 or the Roland TD-20) will require mapping. I know that my triggers (3-V-Drums/2 - triggers) are "trying" to communicate with ST4. When I show the VIRTUAL PADS in ST4, I can hit a V-Drum and I can see a pad being triggered. Does IK have any reference material on mapping? Came across a few YouTube vids that talk about it but doesn't show you what to do.
Usmcdevildog2112
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2021 1:51 am

Re: Sampletank 4 and Roland TD-20 sound module

Postby DarkStar » Wed Apr 07, 2021 11:31 am

I think that many of the drum kits in ST4 use General MIDI (GM) or iMap (an extended GM, by Sonic Reality, who created several of the SampleTank drum kits).

>>> https://cgi.ikmultimedia.com/ikforum/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=26692

Some time ago, I asked for such info to be included in the User Manual.

As for the pads in STt4 I do not know how they work. There is very little about them in the User Manual.
----------------
DarkStar ... interesting, if true.
Inspired by ...
User avatar
DarkStar
Hero Of The Week (Moderator)
 
Posts: 7244
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Sampletank 4 and Roland TD-20 sound module

Postby Usmcdevildog2112 » Sat Apr 10, 2021 11:35 pm

Thank you DarkStar for your response. I appreciate the drum map info. Just to be sure here, because I am starting to doubt myself, I should be able to hit a V-Drum and it trigger a sound from ST4 if I map it correctly? My setup is:3-V-Drums, 1- Foot trigger, 1- pad trigger all going to Roland TD-20. From TD-20 is Roland UM-ONE midi interface going to PC running ST4.
Usmcdevildog2112
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2021 1:51 am

Re: Sampletank 4 and Roland TD-20 sound module

Postby DarkStar » Sun Apr 11, 2021 3:18 pm

I would think so, but I have never used a Roland TD-20.

I cannot find anywhere what MIDI note numbers the TD-20 transmits.
----------------
DarkStar ... interesting, if true.
Inspired by ...
User avatar
DarkStar
Hero Of The Week (Moderator)
 
Posts: 7244
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Sampletank 4 and Roland TD-20 sound module

Postby Usmcdevildog2112 » Sun Apr 11, 2021 9:01 pm

DarkStar, Is the notes you are talking about on page 96 of the manual?

https://www.roland.com/us/support/by_pr ... s_manuals/
Usmcdevildog2112
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2021 1:51 am

Re: Sampletank 4 and Roland TD-20 sound module

Postby DarkStar » Mon Apr 12, 2021 11:19 am

So it is :) I saw the "Percussion Set" but not "Drum Kit"

Here, on Windows 7, I use Code FN42's Note Mapper
https://www.codefn42.com/notemapper/
----------------
DarkStar ... interesting, if true.
Inspired by ...
User avatar
DarkStar
Hero Of The Week (Moderator)
 
Posts: 7244
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Sampletank 4 and Roland TD-20 sound module

Postby Usmcdevildog2112 » Thu Apr 15, 2021 12:29 am

Thank you gents, Finally got ST4 sounds when triggering my pads. Now I need to learn how to map the triggers to the Note I want. I downloaded FN42's Note Mapper and will give that a whirl. I have verified that the notes that are triggered are exactly shown in TD-20 Owners Manual - Note Number for Tom1 (Head and Rim), Tom2 (Head and Rim), Tom3 (Head and Rim), AUX1 and AUX2. The manual says it's Factory Settings so not sure if they can be changed or not. I assume somewhere in ST4 I can change the Notes being played to what instrument I want played.

FYI,
The instructions from UM-ONE Owners Manual states:
MIDI IN Cable
(CONNECT TO MIDI OUT)
Connects to the MIDI OUT connector of the MIDI device (such as a
MIDI keyboard) that will be used for MIDI recording or for playing
a software sound module.

MIDI OUT Cable
(CONNECT TO MIDI IN)
Connects to the MIDI IN connector of a hardware sound module
when DAW software is used to play the hardware sound module

When using Roland TD-20 sound module, Midi IN goes to Midi IN and Midi OUT goes to Midi OUT
Usmcdevildog2112
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2021 1:51 am


Return to Virtual Instruments: SampleTank, Hammond B-3X, More