Axe I/O one vs. Tonex Capture

AXE I/O, AXE I/O Solo, iRig Stomp I/O, Guitar and Bass Audio Interfaces/Controllers, iRig Keys I/O and the iRig Keys family of MIDI controllers

Axe I/O one vs. Tonex Capture

Postby Taco-Zwart-1963 » Wed Apr 19, 2023 4:20 pm

Hi everybody, I'm totally new to IK-Multimedia (I recently bought the Tonex pedal), I have no clue about IK Multimedia Software, nor about Audio interfaces (i don't have any yet) ... Sorry.

I've watched some Youtube tutorials, but things are still not very clear to me.

The reason I bought the Tonex Pedal is because I have some modded "custom" amps, I'd like to "capture", and than play as presets with the Tonex pedal.

Initially I was thinking of buying the Tonex Capture device, but now with Axe I/O One (and I suppose the other AXE I/O models), I'm lost ... Do I still need the Tonex Capture or not ?

Do I need an(other) Audio interface ?

Where does ths Tonex or Amplitube SW fit in all this ?

Any suggestions of which way to go ?

And last but not least ... I'd like to capture the sound of my amps + their cabs, but apart from my Shure SM58 vocal microphone, what microphone would you guys recommend for capturing the sounds of my amps ?

Sorry for bugging you guys and thanks a lot for your feedback.

Taco
Taco-Zwart-1963

Re: Axe I/O one vs. Tonex Capture

Postby Timo2019 » Thu Apr 20, 2023 7:19 pm

I run Tonex capturing and all other interfacing needs through my Axe I/O solo. No need for the Tonex capture. I just purchased the Axe I/O ONE for and gigging or travel (desert jam trips). You are pretty much set with an AXE I/O interface.
Timo2019

Postby Taco-Zwart-1963 » Mon Apr 24, 2023 8:57 am

Thanks Timo, I think I'll go that way as well then !
Taco-Zwart-1963

Postby vac713 » Tue Apr 25, 2023 12:32 am

The one is fine if you're gonna mic the cab (note: the choice of mics will color your sound). Correct me if I'm wrong folks, but if you wanna capture just the amp, you'll need a capture
vac713