Female midi connectors

AXE I/O, AXE I/O Solo, iRig Stomp I/O, Guitar and Bass Audio Interfaces/Controllers, iRig Keys I/O and the iRig Keys family of MIDI controllers

Female midi connectors

Postby MarieB007 » Mon Jun 21, 2021 3:15 pm

Hi
Just purchased the irig pro I/O however, my kawai digital piano has both female in and out midi connectors and the connection cables from the 2.5 mm iack on the irig are also female. I would appreciate any advice as to what I need to purchase to connect the irig to my piano - I am not very good at connections and it seems a bit overwhelming. Appreciate any advice. Thanks
MarieB007

Re: Female midi connectors

Postby Peter_IK » Mon Jun 21, 2021 3:21 pm

Your iRig Pro I/O should have included the following:

2.5mm TRS male to MIDI female adapter (10cm / 3.9")

If yours did not include that cable please notify IK Support who can help you via http://www.ikmultimedia.com/contact-support/hw
IK Multimedia. Musicians First.
YouTube - Facebook - Twitter
Need help? Our support team will be happy to help and can be reached at this link.
From the rules: Moderator decisions are not a matter for forum discussion and are final.
Peter_IK
Kingpin

Postby MarieB007 » Mon Jun 21, 2021 3:25 pm

Hi Peter
Thanks for your reply. I do have those but as they are female and the midi ports on my piano are also female I cannot connect them directly. I need an adapter of some sort but I don’t know which one to purchase. Would appreciate any help. Thanks
MarieB007

Postby Peter_IK » Mon Jun 21, 2021 4:29 pm

MarieB007 wrote:Hi Peter
Thanks for your reply. I do have those but as they are female and the midi ports on my piano are also female I cannot connect them directly. I need an adapter of some sort but I don’t know which one to purchase. Would appreciate any help. Thanks

Ah sorry, I understand now. You would still need a MIDI cable as you would use for any MIDI gear with standard connectors.