iRig Stomp I/O Users Topic - Experiences and Questions

AXE I/O, AXE I/O Solo, iRig Stomp I/O, Guitar and Bass Audio Interfaces/Controllers, iRig Keys I/O and the iRig Keys family of MIDI controllers

iRig Stomp I/O Users Topic - Experiences and Questions

Postby smcvey » Wed Apr 18, 2018 7:00 pm

Hi All,

Thought I would start a separate Topic for users of the new (April 2018) Stomp I/O floorboard. I am sure I will need your help as I am new to IK and software modeling in general. My story:

Been playing guitar off and on for about six years and was in some cover bands (Classic and Modern Rock). In my search for sounds to mimic AC/DC, Eagles, Santana, Foo Fighters, etc. I started with a clean Fender amp and an array of Boss pedals and got tired of the tap dance and trying to keep all the knobs in the right places. So I tried Line 6 POD and other modelers in front of an amp. At least I could create presets that would sound exactly the same whenever I wanted them. Then I turned to amps with built-in MIDI presets and effects. Hughes and Kettner Switchblade, Marshall JMD. I keep hearing how great the Line 6 Helix is, but I grow tired of dedicated hardware that is obsolete in a few years. So it makes sense to go all software-driven. And the Stomp I/O should give me both presets I can call up in a hurry, plus the ability to turn on/off individual effects. So I'm looking to make this my live performance rig and simply put it through a clean, full-range PA speaker for monitoring plus send everything to the board.

Have I made the right choice here? No need/desire to record anything in the short term. Maybe after I retire and have more time...

Thanks for your feedback and all the future newbie questions/answers that are bound to arise.
smcvey

Re: iRig Stomp I/O Users Topic - Experiences and Questions

Postby Timo2019 » Wed Apr 18, 2018 7:08 pm