What laptop is best for beginner music production?

AmpliTube TONEX, AmpliTube 5, AmpliTube Custom Shop, AmpliTube Joe Satriani, AmpliTube Brian May, MESA/Boogie®,Orange™, Fender™, Hendrix™, Metal, AmpliTube SVX, and more for Mac/PC

Postby Christk1 » Sat Apr 16, 2022 11:59 am

I’m class of 2025 studying music in the fall and I’m about to get my college laptop, but I want to get one that’s good for music production while also being cost effective. I have exactly zero experience with production but I play a few instruments and am very trained in music theory. Any advice at all is also greatly appreciated !!
Christk1

Re: What laptop is best for beginner music production?

Postby 6stringer » Mon Apr 18, 2022 12:14 am

Congrats on starting your college career.

There are about a million opinions on this. I personally have a Windows computer, and run a free DAW (Cakewalk). But I'm not a music production student (I'm a software engineer). The reason I use Windows is simply cost. I can get a Windows laptop (or desktop) for less than a Mac.

First, has the school you're attending specified any software or hardware that you have to use? That might have an impact on what laptop you choose. For example, Logic is only available on a Mac.