Absolute noob with questions

AmpliTube TONEX, AmpliTube 5, AmpliTube Custom Shop, AmpliTube Joe Satriani, AmpliTube Brian May, MESA/Boogie®,Orange™, Fender™, Hendrix™, Metal, AmpliTube SVX, and more for Mac/PC

Absolute noob with questions

Postby Lefty_that_shreds » Wed Jun 03, 2020 12:59 am

Hey what's goin on y'all!?! So listen I dont mean to be annoying or a nuisance, but I am totally new to the whole computer studio/ guitar platforms world. I want to start setting a nice little set up, up for myself but have no idea where to begin. I dont NEED to be able to record but maybe would like to option. I mainly just want to plug into computer, set whatever amps and tones I want, and then just jam out... my question is what am I going to need to achieve that??
Do I need a guitar interface or MIDI, or can I just purchase and download amplitube 4 deluxe, and just be good to go with that? Please help I'm clueless, my knowledge is more non-computers, real amps, processors, clueless with computer based software and what not... thank you guys I appreciate it!!!! Rock on!!!
Lefty_that_shreds

Re: Absolute noob with questions

Postby garfy » Wed Jun 03, 2020 8:45 am

Hi Lefty_that_shreds and welcome to the forums.

If you are starting with just a computer, then yes you will need someway of getting your guitar into it and sound out of it commonly known as an audio interface (AI). Prices vary with facilities and quality, so if you let us know a budget then I'm sure people will chime in with suggestions. Without trying to hard sell, there are a number of IKM interfaces for guitarists that come complete with included versions of AmpliTube, so you could start there if you wanted.

If you have decent headphones already then these can be used with an AI, or you could invest in some studio grade monitors. Again, price is pretty much related to quality.