Help

AmpliTube TONEX, AmpliTube 5, AmpliTube Custom Shop, AmpliTube Joe Satriani, AmpliTube Brian May, MESA/Boogie®,Orange™, Fender™, Hendrix™, Metal, AmpliTube SVX, and more for Mac/PC

Help

Postby dansala2020 » Mon Mar 25, 2019 2:25 am

Hello

I'm quite new to amplitube and recording in general, and I wondered if someone can help answer what is probably a stupid question.

I'm currently doing some demo recording using Garageband and running Amplitube 3 for the guitar and bass amps. I'm using a Focusrite 2i2 as my interface.

When I started, I read somewhere that you should crank the input and turn down the output to get a crisper, more overdriven tone. I've set the output pretty high, at around the 7/8 spot on the dial, and the output at around 4. So when I play my input is going into the red and the output is staying well in the green. I've then recorded with these tones, and they sound great. I'm not having any problems with clipping when I listen back through my monitors, but is this something I should be concerned about (i.e. will the clipping be heard on better monitors or headphones)? The focusrite is also staying in the green at input stage, and the track in garageband (both the guitar/bass and master) are in the green.

I guess what I'm asking is, if I'm not hearing any clipping when the input is hitting the red during and after recording, do I need to adjust the input, or am I okay leaving the tone as is? What is the risk of having the input hitting the red if the output is staying in the green?

Sorry for the newbie question, and i'm sure the answer is something like "if you're not hearing clipping, don't worry" but as I've recording 4 or 5 complete songs, I don't want to start mixing without checking any issues I might run into.

Thanks (and sorry for the essay!)
dansala2020

Re: Help

Postby garfy » Mon Mar 25, 2019 9:35 am

Hey dansala2020

dansala2020 wrote:i'm sure the answer is something like "if you're not hearing clipping, don't worry"