Blink 182 sound setup

AmpliTube TONEX, AmpliTube 5, AmpliTube Custom Shop, AmpliTube Joe Satriani, AmpliTube Brian May, MESA/Boogie®,Orange™, Fender™, Hendrix™, Metal, AmpliTube SVX, and more for Mac/PC

Blink 182 sound setup

Postby Alasdairiainmacleod » Thu Aug 09, 2018 10:26 am

Hi Guys,

I am a total beginner. I am just learning guitar at the moment. Along with instruction, I am learning to play songs which I like from my youth.

One of the songs I have been learning is Blink 182 - All the small things. Its pretty simple, even for a beginner such as me. I just can't seem to get the Blink 182 sound quite right?

I have an iRIG HD. Could anyone advise me which pedals and amp setups I should go for in order to get a good Blink 182 sound?

Thanks guys.
Alasdairiainmacleod

Re: Blink 182 sound setup

Postby carlaz » Fri Aug 10, 2018 4:28 pm

I'm no Blink-182 expert, but lots of info seems to be available online. Some quick Googling found me this quote from one of the guitar players (Tom DeLonge) from the early 2000s: "I use a Mesa/Boogie Triple Rectifier and a Marshall JCM 900. Mesa/Boogies can have all that bottom end and saturation of distortion but it doesn't have that string note tone that a Marshall has. And Marshall has a lot of string note tone but none of that overdriven bottom end. So when you mix the two tones I think it sounds incredible. What I do is put the JCM 900 on its clean channel and turn the gain up to 10 and I also do the same with the dirty channel on the Mesa. So you kind of have two totally different unique sounds blended in together. I run that out of 3, Mesa/Boogie 4x12s." I gather the same guy also used some pedals, perhaps particularly a Fulltone OCD?