New to Ik Multimedia. What is Tonex?

Forum for ToneNET - AmpliTube TONEX and AmpliTube 5’s preset sharing community.
Together we rock nonstop

New to Ik Multimedia. What is Tonex?

Postby Steve_406 » Fri Jun 02, 2023 8:38 pm

Newbie question. What is Tonex software, and how does it work with AmpliTube 5?
I just got Amplitude5, and am using the AXE I/O One.
Would adding Tonex give me anything not available with AmpliTube 5?

Thank You.
Steve_406
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2023 8:35 pm

Re: New to Ik Multimedia. What is Tonex?

Postby Peter_IK » Fri Jun 02, 2023 10:06 pm

The best way to explain is to talk about the differences between AmpliTube and TONEX. This is from another post:

AmpliTube and TONEX are two different products using different technologies: AmpliTube is made using analog modeling technology while TONEX uses a new technology called AI machine modeling ( https://www.amplitube.com/ai ). While analog modeling simulates the behavior of the whole circuit of the amp - with all the knobs, switches, buttons and their interactions - AI machine modeling gives an ultra-realistic simulation of the rig with a specific knob settings. So it's not that one technology is "better" than the other, it depends of what the final user's needs are: full editing and customization versus accuracy in getting a specific sound. Using them together gives of course the best of both worlds and a super-powerful amp-sim system.

The two products are also different because AmpliTube can simulate the entire set up used in guitar recording (multiple serial and parallel rigs combining amps, all type of stomp effects, post effects, cabinets and microphones, etc.. with full editing down to the single gear), while TONEX is dedicated to simulates just amp, cabinets and certain type of pedals (distortions, overdrive, fuzz, EQ, boost) in each of their combinations. However TONEX can be used inside AmpliTube, as a sub-system of amps and pedals, again to have the best of both worlds.
IK Multimedia. Musicians First.
YouTube - Facebook - Twitter
Need help? Our support team will be happy to help and can be reached at this link.
From the rules: Moderator decisions are not a matter for forum discussion and are final.
User avatar
Peter_IK
Kingpin
 
Posts: 19660
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:40 pm
Location: Everywhere

Re: New to Ik Multimedia. What is Tonex?

Postby buddachile » Fri Jun 30, 2023 9:34 pm

Can an amplitube 5 amp model be loaded into the tonex pedal?
buddachile
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 20, 2023 6:16 am

Re: New to Ik Multimedia. What is Tonex?

Postby Peter_IK » Fri Jun 30, 2023 9:45 pm

buddachile wrote:Can an amplitube 5 amp model be loaded into the tonex pedal?

You cannot, you load TONEX Tone Models on to the TONEX Pedal.
IK Multimedia. Musicians First.
YouTube - Facebook - Twitter
Need help? Our support team will be happy to help and can be reached at this link.
From the rules: Moderator decisions are not a matter for forum discussion and are final.
User avatar
Peter_IK
Kingpin
 
Posts: 19660
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:40 pm
Location: Everywhere


Return to ToneNET preset sharing community