No sound from Uno Synth Pro desktop

Discuss UNO Synth Pro, UNO Drum and UNO Synth - IK's analog/pcm drum machine and our true analog synthesizers. Proudly designed and built by IK in Modena, Italy!

No sound from Uno Synth Pro desktop

Postby nickrog1@sky.com » Sun Aug 22, 2021 11:47 am

Hi All. I'm a newbie to synths, so please forgive any stupid questions. I have no sound from my Uno Synth Pro and it's driving me nuts. I have a MacBook Pro with just USB-C inputs (4). I'm using GarageBand as my DAW. Can any kind person give me a clear understanding of the connection I will need between the Uno Synth Pro (desktop) and the MacBook Pro? At the moment, I have power via USB connection and have purchased a Otraki Midi cable interface which terminates with two midi connectors and USB-C on the computer end.
No sound at all. Blurb says it's plug and play!
HELP!!!!
nickrog1@sky.com

Re: No sound from Uno Synth Pro desktop

Postby Peter_IK » Sun Aug 22, 2021 3:09 pm

UNO Synth Pro is an analog synth so you need to connect its audio outputs to your audio interface to get the signal into your computer. As with typical analog synths it does not transmit audio over USB.
IK Multimedia. Musicians First.
YouTube - Facebook - Twitter
Need help? Our support team will be happy to help and can be reached at this link.
From the rules: Moderator decisions are not a matter for forum discussion and are final.
Peter_IK
Kingpin

Postby nickrog1@sky.com » Sun Aug 22, 2021 3:59 pm

Thanks for the reply. I see many users with midi connections from the Uno Synth Pro. What type of interface do I need to get MIDI signals into the MacBook Pro?
nickrog1@sky.com

Postby Peter_IK » Sun Aug 22, 2021 4:05 pm

Many audio interfaces also have MIDI connectivity or you could get a dedicated MIDI interface for your computer. However, I just want to make 100% sure that you know that would not send any audio into your computer as MIDI is not audio data.