Question about midi

Discuss UNO Synth Pro, UNO Drum and UNO Synth - IK's analog/pcm drum machine and our true analog synthesizers. Proudly designed and built by IK in Modena, Italy!

Question about midi

Postby mikante » Thu Nov 14, 2019 2:24 pm

Hi,
I'm Andrea and I'm new to this forum.
i come from Italy.
I'm really looking forward to buy a Uno drum unit, but I need some information first.
I would use it to gig and I'm a guitarist.
I'd like to know if it is possible to assign commands to a midi device to control some of the features of this machine, more precisely, changing patterns with my foot, like those beatbox do.
Is it possible? do I need a special midi device or any midi controller will work?
I hope you can help,
thank you.
Andrea.
mikante

Re: Question about midi

Postby mungewell » Thu Nov 14, 2019 9:31 pm

There is some MIDI implementation information in the manual
https://www.ikmultimedia.com/products/u ... ?p=manuals

I don't have one either, but it looks like the Program Change message changes the kit that is in use, NOT the pattern (ie sequence of notes/hits). It may be possible to change the pattern via a different MIDI message (possibly SysEx).
7.12 – Program Change
On the drum machine, KITs are recalled by MIDI Program Change. Program Change 0 will recall KIT 1 (for consistency with UNO Synth).

Re-sending the appropriate messages; this could be achieved with a MorningStar MC6 (or similar) connected via 5pin adapter.

There are also DIY solutions, if you are looking for minimal cost...
mungewell

Postby mikante » Thu Nov 14, 2019 9:50 pm

Thank you,
It would be nice to be able to assign commands as "play, pattern, stop," in order to use it live while you Re playing a different instrument.
You could build a song through different patterns and then call them on the fly by using a midi stomp device.
I ll take a look at the manual.
mikante

Postby mungewell » Thu Nov 14, 2019 10:11 pm

Sure, lots of things would be nice ;-)