iLoud MTM vs. Yamaha HS5

Discussion about IK monitors and speakers like iLoud Precison, iLoud MTM, iLoud Micro Monitor and iLoud as well as X-MONITOR software.

iLoud MTM vs. Yamaha HS5

Postby ZappaMontana10 » Sun May 16, 2021 5:02 pm

Hi everybody,
I´ve recently bought an AXE I/O + AT5 Max bundle and have been using it with headphones. I would like to buy a couple of monitors to practice, record and mix.
I am new to all this music recording and mixing. I was innitially thinking about buying a pair of Yamaha's HS5 but have been reading about the iLoud MTM's and start also considering them.
I read that they sound amazing, but also that they have several issues (weird noises, power supply failure, problems with low frequencies, etc.).
A pair of MTM is ca. EUR 855 while a pair of HS5 is ca. EUR 365 and there are no such reports of technical issues for these last ones, so I am very reluctant on going for the MTM's.
Can you guys help my with some advice? Am I comparing what is not comparable? Why should I go for the MTM's and not for the HS5, Adam A3X or similar alternatives?
Thanks a lot for the advice.
Cheers,
Jorge
ZappaMontana10

Re: iLoud MTM vs. Yamaha HS5

Postby lchalk » Sat May 29, 2021 3:52 am

too bad no responses. I am thinking of buying a pair of MTM too. Best I can do is tell you I have a pair of KRK Rokit 5 plus a 8S subwoofer in my main studio and an axi io solo running iloud micro monitors in my bedroom and I love the solo with the micro's (which I am thinking should I upgrade to the MTM) but playing guitar the micro's sound amazing I could only assume the the MTM's would sound even more amazing. Can the micros over power my krk with the sub, no but they still sound amazing
lchalk

Postby ZappaMontana10 » Sat May 29, 2021 10:55 am