MODO Drums multi outs in Logic Pro X

Discussions about MODO DRUM physically modeled drums and MODO BASS - the first physically modeled electric bass virtual instrument

MODO Drums multi outs in Logic Pro X

Postby Floodmusic » Thu Jan 09, 2020 11:57 pm

Hi, Just purchased MODO drums and am trying to set up the kit as multi outs in Logic. I have looked at the manual but just can't figure it out. Can anyone help?
Regards Trev
Floodmusic
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 10:05 pm

Re: MODO Drums multi outs in Logic Pro X

Postby Peter_IK » Mon Jan 13, 2020 9:37 pm

I don't use Logic Pro X but that's where you'd create a multi-out instrument track.

Basically, you should add a new track and at that time there should be an option to specify that it will be multi-out and I believe you choose how many outputs at that time. Again, I'm not a Logic Pro X user and I'm not on a Mac right now so I cannot check it directly. You should be able to find more information about instantiating a mutlple output instrument track in Logic Pro X in Logic's manual/help, though.
IK Multimedia. Musicians First.
YouTube - Facebook - Twitter
Need help? Our support team will be happy to help and can be reached at this link.
User avatar
Peter_IK
Kingpin
 
Posts: 14948
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:40 pm
Location: Everywhere

Re: MODO Drums multi outs in Logic Pro X

Postby garfy » Tue Jan 14, 2020 4:03 pm

Hello Trev

Peter_IK is correct in pointing out that it needs to be multi-out when instantiated:

1) Create new MIDI track and choose Instrument as AU Instrument>IK Multimedia>MODO Drum>Multi-Output (16xStereo).
2) You'll see a single stereo master channel appear in the Logic mixer for MODO Drum, except that it includes "-" and "+" buttons above the Solo button. Each time you click "+" it opens a new auxiliary channel from the master, which MODO Drum can then output to.
3) EXAMPLE: click "+" twice and you'll get 2 new aux channels with the input showing MODO3-4 and MODO5-6 respectively.
4) Open the MODO Drum GUI and click on the Mixer page. At the bottom of each kit piece channel it shows that they are all routed to the Master (in MODO and therefore Logic).
5) Change the Kick to output to DAW 3-4 and the Snare to DAW 5-6. Play the kit or start up a preset groove and you should now have the kick and snare coming into Logic on the separate channels with everything else still coming into the Master MODO channel.

Hope that clarifies it all.
System Specs: 2012 Mac Mini 2.6 i7 & 2015 MBP 2.2 i7, 16GB RAM
macOS10.14.6 Logic 10.5 Reason 8.3
Various IK, NI, Waves, Softube, Eventide, XLN software
Focusrite 18i20 x 2, Novation ReMote 25SL
garfy
Moderator
 
Posts: 1253
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 6:09 pm
Location: Comfy chair, UK


Return to MODO DRUM & MODO BASS

cron