How much processor/RAM do you find yourself needing?

General talk about music creation and production, or anything that doesn’t fit into the other categories

How much processor/RAM do you find yourself needing?

Postby ivaliotes44 » Wed Sep 01, 2021 7:02 pm

This is not a tech support question for IK. I've been playing music for a long time, but I'm getting into doing some stuff with a DAW. I have also been working in technology for decades, so I understand "buy what you can afford." That doesn't mean I want to overbuy.

In this context, are RAM requirements additive? If I am running MODO Bass and MODO Drum, does the recommended RAM go up to 32GB?

I'm not a professional and not wanting 100 tracks, but I would like to have some sense that it's going to work smoothly.
ivaliotes44

Re: How much processor/RAM do you find yourself needing?

Postby Peter_IK » Wed Sep 01, 2021 7:29 pm

RAM requirements aren't really additive but you'll want to overshoot a bit if you will be using many tools simultaneously. You also have some optimization that happens in your DAW that usually helps balance things out (and that's not including the ability to do things yourself like freeze tracks or print them to audio tracks).

16GB would be the recommended minimum in my opinion. Even on a laptop (the M1 MacBook I'm using to type this has 16GB RAM and even with the new architecture allegedly making more RAM not as important for some tasks I'm happy to have it and feel it performs well).