Bass Guitar Recording: Brand New User

General talk about music creation and production, or anything that doesn’t fit into the other categories

Bass Guitar Recording: Brand New User

Postby NomadNJ67 » Sat Apr 11, 2020 12:58 pm

Hello All!

I am a bass player and just bought the iRig HD2 for virtual recording with my band. My question is what type of sound/amp set-up shoud I use if I'm strictly using the iRig for bass recording? Do I just use the pre-set AmpliTube settings? The only option I'm seeing is a Lead amp. Is that my only choice and if so what adjustments should I make to get a solid bass tone? Or is there a free bass amp I can choose form? Or do I need to purchase a specific bass amp and if so which one? Newbie here so any insight and guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You!!!

Dan
NomadNJ67

Re: Bass Guitar Recording: Brand New User

Postby garfy » Sun Apr 12, 2020 12:07 pm

Hello Dan and welcome to the forums.

Which platform are you using the iRig HD2 with? PC, MAC or iOS?

Whichever way, you will be able to access a great range of gear that comes as part of the bundled software. But, let us know the platform and we can guide you better.
System Specs: 2012 Mac Mini 2.6 i7 & 2015 MBP 2.2 i7, 16GB RAM
macOS10.15.7 Logic 10.6.1 Reason 11
Various IK, NI, Waves, Softube, Eventide, XLN software
Focusrite 18i20 x 2, Novation ReMote 25SL
garfy

Postby NomadNJ67 » Sun Apr 12, 2020 12:48 pm

Thank you Garfy for your reply! I'm using the iRig HD2 with my iPhone 7 (IOS).
NomadNJ67

Postby garfy » Sun Apr 12, 2020 3:36 pm

Ok, thanks for coming back with that info.

So, what you'll first need to do is register your iRig HD2 which will then give you access to the software bundles. This is copy/pasted from the IKM FAQs as I don't own that hardware...

For Mobile users: you will receive the upgrade to AmpliTube FULL version gear contents but note this is only in the AmpliTube FREE app. To obtain: