iRig 2 & iPhone X/ios 13.1.3 issue?

Join the Mobile Music Revolution — IK Multimedia gives you the most complete range of iOS music accessories and apps. Discuss them all here.

iRig 2 & iPhone X/ios 13.1.3 issue?

Postby CHS1978 » Sat Nov 09, 2019 10:07 pm

Hi,

Looking for some help and advice. A week ago I purchased an iRig2. I have never used used one of these before so wasn’t really sure what to expect but had purchased it after it being recommended to me by my guitar tutor.

Unfortunately I wasn’t able to get it working in conjunction with my iPhoneX. I spent many hours trying to work out what could be causing the issue I was experiencing. It seemed that when plugged into my phone, headphones and guitar, it was only picking up background sound via the mic on my phone. Nothing was coming from the guitar on either “FX” or “Thru”. If I tried using the amp instead of headphones then it would work fine on the dry Chanel. Equally I am able to hear the demos through my headphones. I tried a number of different cables and the result was the same.

I then took it to my tutor during my weekly lesson with the hope he may be able to help me solve this issue, but after well over an hour we were unable to progress any further! Again we used a number of cable combinations to no further avail. He even tried using his phone which is an older one than mine with the standard headphone socket. The one thing he noticed was that at no tone was there ever a prompt to use the headphones or speaker, on initially connecting the irig to the phone.

We came to the conclusion that the item may actually be faulty, so I arranged a replacement. Unfortunately on receipt of the replacement product, it would appear that the exact same issue is occurring! Only background noise on my phone’s microphone, or nothing.