midi configuration for Hammond B-3X

Hammond B-3X, Syntronik, Syntronik Deluxe, SampleTank, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, SampleTron 2, and all Powered by SampleTank instruments and sounds for Mac/PC

midi configuration for Hammond B-3X

Postby Busybee1952 » Sat Feb 26, 2022 5:03 pm

I have an old Electone HC-2 keyboard organ with 2 manuals and foot pedals (circa 1990) with simple midi outputs of channel 1 for the upper manual, channel 2 for the lower manual, and channel 3 for the pedals. I've connected the midi ports to a Presonus audiobox 96 audio interface which is in turn connected to a windows 10, 64 bit computer. I'm running Studio One, 5, Artist edition for my DAW, and I cannot get the proper configuration so that the output channels on my Electone will match the Hammond B-3X. I've tried everything I can think of but I'm also a beginner so maybe I missed something? Will I end up having to buy a midi controller to get this to work properly? Any help appreciated. Thank you.
Pat
Busybee1952

Re: midi configuration for Hammond B-3X

Postby DarkStar » Sat Feb 26, 2022 5:29 pm

As your keyboard sends the MIDI on 3 different channels then the B-3X should be able to use that MIDI. You need to set the MIDI channels in B-3X's Preference Settings and make sure that all the MIDI gets through Studio One unchanged to B-3X.

You should not need a separate MIDI controller.

Can you Record the 3 MIDI streams in Studio One?

Where are you getting stuck?

----------
PS I removed your duplicate post, to avoid confusion / inconsistent advice.
----------------
DarkStar ... interesting, if true.
Inspired by ...
DarkStar
Hero Of The Week (Moderator)

Postby Busybee1952 » Sat Feb 26, 2022 7:50 pm

Thank you for your reply. Sorry about the duplicate post but my computer said my connection timed out just as I hit "submit" so I thought I had to do it over.

In Hammond, Advanced, I have upper/lower/pedal hi-lighted.
In Hammond, Direct inputs, I have my Electone set for midi inputs 1, 2, and 3