How do I stop patches overwriting eachother when opened?

Hammond B-3X, Syntronik, Syntronik Deluxe, SampleTank, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, SampleTron 2, and all Powered by SampleTank instruments and sounds for Mac/PC

How do I stop patches overwriting eachother when opened?

Postby Steveulrich1 » Tue Oct 12, 2021 1:19 pm

Dear Anyone.

Wasn't sure whether to do this as a continuation of my last post or not, mods, feel free to move it.

Dark Star very kindly showed me how to open patches in Sampletank. I go to the neon light list up the top, click on it, up come a list of presets, I choose the one I want. BUT....

Sampletank's multitimbral. So say the first preset I choose takes up - I'm not good at techie words, be gentle - but takes up the first 3 positions in the list, all being output to Track One in the DAW. I want the next preset - logically, surely - to start from Position 4 and carry on down from there. So I click on Position 4 in the list, make sure Position 4's highlighted, go back to the list of presets, click on the preset - and it overwrites the first-chosen preset, starting from Position One again!

Assuming for argument's sake each preset's got 3 sounds in it, how do I tell Sampletank to start the second preset from Position 4 and carry on down to Position 6, instead of restarting from Position One and overwriting the first preset I chose?

I know this is a dumbass question, I know I'm missing something obvious again - I'm just not seeing this and I'm flat outta ideas. I mean it's multitimbral, I shouldn't have to open one instance per preset, should I? I should be able to load several presets into one instance?

Yours puzzledly

Chris.
Steveulrich1

Re: How do I stop patches overwriting eachother when opened?

Postby DarkStar » Tue Oct 12, 2021 2:32 pm

A "preset" (an .ikmp file) in SampleTank 2 is a Combi which can contain the data and parameters for up to 16 instruments.