ST4 differences from ST3

Hammond B-3X, Syntronik, Syntronik Deluxe, SampleTank, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, SampleTron 2, and all Powered by SampleTank instruments and sounds for Mac/PC

ST4 differences from ST3

Postby AlanHall » Tue Sep 21, 2021 1:18 pm

I've just upgraded to ST4 from ST3, using a VI in my DAW (Digital Performer). I know there's a bunch of changes in the UI, and I'm just getting started at familiarizing myself with the new look. Here are my questions:
1. In ST3 the instruments would load when opening the DAW project. I could open the VI and watch the progress bar (easily entertained, I know!). In ST4 this loading of the instruments does not seem to happen; even though the plugin shows the instruments that have been selected, I have to manually select them to get them to load. I must be missing something.
2. In ST3 the keyswitches (for the MP2 instruments) would show a pop-up description of the articulation when hovering over the key with the mouse. In ST4 I do not see the pop-up. This makes selecting desired articulations much harder. Again, I must be missing something.
Any advice appreciated!
AlanHall

Re: ST4 differences from ST3

Postby AlanHall » Tue Sep 21, 2021 7:50 pm

Regarding a keyswitch articulation description in ST4:
I see this was mentioned twice in the wishlist thread,

by Promidi
Sat Jul 06, 2019 11:39 am
and by albertolocci
Sun May 24, 2020 6:41 am

Are there only a handful of users that have requested this? Or maybe a workaround that hasn't been mentioned? Hungrily looking...
AlanHall

Postby AlanHall » Wed Sep 22, 2021 12:26 am

crickets..... ;)
AlanHall

Postby AlanHall » Wed Sep 22, 2021 12:32 am

I took a slightly closer look at my rig tonight, and see that I can add MP2 as a VI into my DAW, wasn't an option before (added in v 2.0.6?). I do get the keyswitch descriptions there, so I guess that'll do for me.