What is Sampletank anyway, and why is it relevant?

Hammond B-3X, Syntronik, Syntronik Deluxe, SampleTank, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, SampleTron 2, and all Powered by SampleTank instruments and sounds for Mac/PC

What is Sampletank anyway, and why is it relevant?

Postby u8ncm8 » Tue Jul 07, 2020 10:39 am

Am I right in saying; the '90's we'd call this type of software a Mod Tracker?

It seems to be something like that but because it exists in 2 forms:-
[1] Standalone
[2] As a plug-in

The first justifies its existence if we didn't want to load a full blown DAW, ( perhaps for live purposes ) but that would be overkill. Most backing tracks I know are completed exports of things we do in this type of software before the gig.

The second is strange because we'd have the DAW that do all the functionality anyway by loading the same plug-ins that come with ST separately.

I'm new to ST, so forgive me if it is a stupid question. And that's not by choice. I bought the Miroslav on July 4th Special, and that's all that was subtracted from my Visa account. But it seems I was given SampleTank4 as well, serial numbers n' all. I haven't downloaded it because I'm wondering what value is it? The Miro works without it . . .

thanks
~rob v
u8ncm8

Re: What is Sampletank anyway, and why is it relevant?

Postby DarkStar » Tue Jul 07, 2020 12:11 pm

Hello and welcome to the forum.

No, SampleTank 4 ("ST4") is not a Mod Tracker.

It is a sample-based player with a huge library of instruments and a wide range of effects. It also has some built-in tools (Arpeggiator, Strummer and Phraser). It is multi-timbral so 16 different instruments can be loaded and played, all at once. Each instrument can be routed to a different audio output, so different effects plug-ins can be used on them. Using its Live mode you can create and use Set lists, easily selecting different sets of instruments. Many of the parameter controls can be automated or assigned directly to MIDI CC control.