low volume on bass in sample tank 4

Syntronik, SampleTank, Miroslav Philharmonik, Sonik Synth, SampleMoog, SampleTron, Xpansion Tank series and all Powered by SampleTank instruments and sounds for Mac/PC

low volume on bass in sample tank 4

Postby jdny » Fri Jun 07, 2019 5:27 pm

Any way to get more volume out of the bass patches for sample tank 4.My mac pro to fender 350 watts amp gets hardly any volume; renders Sample Tank useless. Any suggestions. I saw where someone complained about this a long time ago in here; it hasnt' been fixed yet?
jdny
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 4:26 pm

Re: low volume on bass in sample tank 4

Postby garfy » Sat Jun 08, 2019 10:26 am

Hi jdny

Can you give us some more info please. Which bass presets specifically are you trying? How are you coming out of your Mac and getting into your amp? Is it direct from ST4 to the interface, or is there other software in-between?

I've had a look at the '4001 Sunburst Bass Finger Amp' preset, turning the amp emulation off as I guess you've done if you're outputting to a real amp. Even at a moderate MIDI velocity of 70, the output is reading at around -4.0dBFS on the ST4 and Logic Pro X meters and is also showing that in the output meters for my audio interface, with all other digital faders at unity or zero.

By the time that gets output and equated to line level (x dBu) it should, in theory, be too hot for an instrument input on your bass amp so it's a bit of an interesting one if you're experiencing quiet levels.
System Specs: 2012 Mac Mini 2.6 i7 & 2015 MBP 2.2 i7, 16GB RAM
macOS10.13.6
Logic 10.4.5 Reason 8.3
Various IK, NI, Waves, Softube, Eventide, XLN software
Focusrite 18i20 x 2, Novation ReMote 25SL
garfy
Moderator
 
Posts: 769
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 6:09 pm
Location: Comfy chair, UK

Re: low volume on bass in sample tank 4

Postby jdny » Sat Jun 08, 2019 4:15 pm

The only output on the Mac Pro is the head phones jack.Directly out of St4 I don't understand what you mean. I tried almost all bass presets and i hear no difference in volume. I am using a regular guitar type chord like i would when i play music from computer to my Fender amp(which by the way is really loud i don't know what else i can do. Cord is working fine. No software in between.
jdny
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 4:26 pm

Re: low volume on bass in sample tank 4

Postby garfy » Sat Jun 08, 2019 4:31 pm

jdny wrote:The only output on the Mac Pro is the head phones jack

jdny wrote:I am using a regular guitar type chord like i would when i play music from computer to my Fender amp


Ok, so is the volume of the ST4 basses quieter if you listen to the output on headphones rather than sending it to your Fender amp?

I'm just trying to ascertain where in the signal chain the 'quietness' may be happening. A mastered, pre-recorded piece of music coming out of iTunes, will almost certainly be 'louder' overall than a single baseline from a virtual instrument.
System Specs: 2012 Mac Mini 2.6 i7 & 2015 MBP 2.2 i7, 16GB RAM
macOS10.13.6
Logic 10.4.5 Reason 8.3
Various IK, NI, Waves, Softube, Eventide, XLN software
Focusrite 18i20 x 2, Novation ReMote 25SL
garfy
Moderator
 
Posts: 769
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 6:09 pm
Location: Comfy chair, UK

Re: low volume on bass in sample tank 4

Postby jdny » Sat Jun 08, 2019 4:51 pm

Sound is really good in my head phones. volume is louder than my amp. Crazy huh? I will keep working on it; I am glad I finally got the ST3 working in the first place for it took me awhile to learn where the presets are on my computer. Thanks for your immediate help and concern.
jdny
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 4:26 pm

Re: low volume on bass in sample tank 4

Postby garfy » Sat Jun 08, 2019 5:00 pm

jdny wrote:Sound is really good in my head phones.


Ok, so that suggests that it's not down to ST4 itself. Have you tried any other sounds like the synths to see if they are perceived as 'quieter' when sent to your amp?

I think there may be an issue with you coming out of stereo headphone jack with, I'm guessing, a 1/8" to 1/4" convertor to connect your guitar lead and then going into a mono input on the Fender amp. Possible some kind of phase cancellation going on, but I'm just guessing.

It might be worth putting a ticket into support for some help https://www.ikmultimedia.com/contact-support/mi/
System Specs: 2012 Mac Mini 2.6 i7 & 2015 MBP 2.2 i7, 16GB RAM
macOS10.13.6
Logic 10.4.5 Reason 8.3
Various IK, NI, Waves, Softube, Eventide, XLN software
Focusrite 18i20 x 2, Novation ReMote 25SL
garfy
Moderator
 
Posts: 769
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 6:09 pm
Location: Comfy chair, UK

Re: low volume on bass in sample tank 4

Postby jdny » Sat Jun 08, 2019 5:04 pm

i am going to order a guitar chord thicker than the one i have; that might be the problem. All synths sound loud enough but they are piercing any way. Thanks, I will return after I buy a new chord if the problem continues.
jdny
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 4:26 pm

Re: low volume on bass in sample tank 4

Postby garfy » Sat Jun 08, 2019 5:05 pm

As a complete shot in the dark...

In the ST4 mixer for the bass presets, pan the channel all the way over to the left. Does that make it louder when it gets to your amp?
System Specs: 2012 Mac Mini 2.6 i7 & 2015 MBP 2.2 i7, 16GB RAM
macOS10.13.6
Logic 10.4.5 Reason 8.3
Various IK, NI, Waves, Softube, Eventide, XLN software
Focusrite 18i20 x 2, Novation ReMote 25SL
garfy
Moderator
 
Posts: 769
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 6:09 pm
Location: Comfy chair, UK

Re: low volume on bass in sample tank 4

Postby jdny » Sat Jun 08, 2019 5:24 pm

I just figured out what my problem was. I had the built in output channel 1-2 not matching. I have more volume than ever right now. Thanks for your support.
jdny
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 4:26 pm

Re: low volume on bass in sample tank 4

Postby garfy » Sat Jun 08, 2019 5:26 pm

Great, glad that you've got it sorted.



As this thread has been resolved for the user it will be marked as such and locked to keep the forum tidy.

• If you are the original poster and wish to add a comment please ask a Moderator to unlock the thread.
• If you are reading this thread because you are having similar issues or have questions of a related nature, please feel free to start a new topic.
System Specs: 2012 Mac Mini 2.6 i7 & 2015 MBP 2.2 i7, 16GB RAM
macOS10.13.6
Logic 10.4.5 Reason 8.3
Various IK, NI, Waves, Softube, Eventide, XLN software
Focusrite 18i20 x 2, Novation ReMote 25SL
garfy
Moderator
 
Posts: 769
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 6:09 pm
Location: Comfy chair, UK


Return to SampleTank & Other Virtual Instruments