SampleTank 4 [and 4.0.8] Now Available!

Hammond B-3X, Syntronik, SampleTank, Miroslav Philharmonik, Sonik Synth, SampleMoog, SampleTron, Xpansion Tank series and all Powered by SampleTank instruments and sounds for Mac/PC

Re: SampleTank 4 [and 4.0.4 + library updates] Now Available

Postby smlarge51 » Sat Apr 27, 2019 6:07 pm

I have the USB drive for the new ST4 product. 4/25/2019

Is it possible to only install the SampleTank 3 part of USB drive?

Or do I need to install the entire ST3 and ST4 ?

I'm on a 2018 iMac 64-bit machine.

- Steve
smlarge51
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 7:17 pm

Re: SampleTank 4 [and 4.0.4 + library updates] Now Available

Postby feldor » Sat Apr 27, 2019 6:14 pm

Hi all, just quickly wanting to say I do not like the package. I like some of the sounds, especially human voices, but I think that does not cover the problems I've had. First of all, the installation is silly and not going into any details because everyone should already know that how stupit that "thing" is. Who is behind this way how you need to download things? I mean, really..
Now, back to sounds when I finally was able to download them. I have constant crashes and whenever I'm (just now... so you know I'm pissed off.. sorry) trying to make a song, this... software just crashes and has no means for saving anything - unless I've manually made it.
Thing is, it just takes too much pc power and even if you think "yes you have just low end PC", it never helps, because the software sucks.
Sounds many of them are cool, but if I cannot use them because of the constant crash things, I just use other things, not Sampletank ones.

This might be a bit harsh "review", but I'm trying to be honest. As said, I do like the sounds, wishing I could use them fully...

Cheers...
feldor
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 4:56 pm
Location: Finland

Re: SampleTank 4 [and 4.0.4 + library updates] Now Available

Postby halfcack » Sat Apr 27, 2019 9:34 pm

This is really funny. I ranted about that as well.

I bought an on sale A 62 NI keyboard.

They have an app which has one advantage, it keeps track of all the stuff you bought, keeps them up to date and imports other sounds. Without my input because it knows I'm “stupit.”

Congratulations, you are he first person I ever saw spell stupit like that, for effect. I always use, “opportunafish” and never have been called on it.

Imagine my surprise when I had to do the same thing at NI. It was almost over before it started.

I bought the ssd drive I mentioned and it downloaded all of SE's content in an hour.

I then downloaded all of NI's content for a comparison, lower gigage, faster to download.

With ST, I did have an initial problem on the first try with Voices and Strings,

The estimate was about two weeks at 25 kB a second. I just erased it and started over. Bam, 256 down, over in minutes.

Support helped me out by pointing to docs it took days for me to -not- find.

Support also pointed out that the number two and three pages would be of use to me. It’s kind of a cheat sheet.

I’m taking it slow. When I plugged the keyboard in and had downloaded the app, “magic” happened. The keyboard found everything, assembled it neatly and I was ready to go.

It's is going to take a while. I asked support at ik if I could use the content only. I don’t use the interface, I just like the sounds. Support said just download content. It worked.
Last edited by halfcack on Sun Apr 28, 2019 7:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
halfcack
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2016 11:30 pm

Re: SampleTank 4 [and 4.0.4 + library updates] Now Available

Postby dlgebert » Sun Apr 28, 2019 5:46 pm

halfcack wrote:I just had a chance to try this. A piece of genius. I read some of the other methods which required a whole lot more knowledge plus the steps to get to where you got me to even if I understood it were overwhelming.

Some required that extra software be purchased others I didn’t get beyond the first paragraph.

I followed your instructions. It downloaded the SE files in about a half hour. I used a cheap My Passport WD Drive which came with a type C to type C cable.

Anyway, you came up with a two step solution that works perfectly. Thank you so much.


Thank you for the kind words. I'm glad this worked for you. Sometimes the simple solutions work the best. :)

Dave
Check out my YouTube channel that features music and videos created by myself. My current album features Syntronik synths, guitars and MODO bass thru Amplitube amps, effects & T-RackS.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCdu7S84EBIfXctQdqxOuAtA
dlgebert
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 11:51 pm

Re: SampleTank 4 [and 4.0.4 + library updates] Now Available

Postby halfcack » Sun Apr 28, 2019 6:52 pm

Dave,

Yes.

Thank you. With me, I just have to get the light bulb to turn on.

I actually got sound to come out of it last night, properly.

The slightly smaller than a barcode sized display, (actually, refreshing) showed me the name of the sound, what it was, category, etc.

To top it off, it's an -oled- display. The board looked for these sounds and found them. Congrats to them for a great app.

This could be rewarding.

Thank you.
Last edited by halfcack on Sun Apr 28, 2019 7:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
halfcack
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2016 11:30 pm

Re: SampleTank 4 [and 4.0.4 + library updates] Now Available

Postby halfcack » Sun Apr 28, 2019 7:00 pm

smlarge51 wrote:I have the USB drive for the new ST4 product. 4/25/2019

Is it possible to only install the SampleTank 3 part of USB drive?

Or do I need to install the entire ST3 and ST4 ?

I'm on a 2018 iMac 64-bit machine.

- Steve
Hi Steve,

I don’t guarantee my work so .... yes, I did it and it stood alone or comes up in the whole package.

Same with ST4. In the app or stand alone.

Sorry in advance this didn’t work, if it doesn’t.

I just stumbled and fell into it by downloading ST3 in from my -user area-, stopping and trying it. It worked. I don’t know if it will work pulling it off a stick drive.

Best,
Chaz
halfcack
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2016 11:30 pm

Re: SampleTank 4 [and 4.0.4 + library updates] Now Available

Postby halfcack » Sun Apr 28, 2019 7:35 pm

syd4444 wrote:I recently upgraded to 4.04 and it runs perfectly in stand alone mode but when I try to use it with Logic Pro X I now have a midi delay making it unplayable. I've tried changing the streaming settings but nothing gets rid of the delay. Has anyone else experienced this problem.
Yup, of all things, I ran into it last night. I twisted some knobs and it went away, came back then went away for good.

It was the same as hiss that was coming out of the Mac, that went away too. Sorry, not much help, if any.

I found after it loses all the ‘lectricity, overnight, it usually cures the problem.

Best to you, most problems occur for me when I try to go fast.
halfcack
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2016 11:30 pm

Re: SampleTank 4 [and 4.0.4 + library updates] Now Available

Postby syd4444 » Mon Apr 29, 2019 3:00 pm

Many Thanks, I've went back to using ST3 til I'm satisfied I've solved the problem. Maybe my set up is just a bit too old and slow to handle ST4 but it is still usable for using single instruments then freezing the track in Logic to save capacity.
syd4444
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 7:30 pm

Re: SampleTank 4 [and 4.0.4 + library updates] Now Available

Postby triggerthehorizon » Thu May 09, 2019 12:10 pm

I am under the impression 4.0.4 is still far from optimized cpu wise. I have an old machine, an I7 3770k with 32gb of ram and my Samples are on an SSD. Still, I can load an 18 gig piano patch with full fx chains using 10% of a single CPU core from competing 3rd party kontakt libraries, sounds that are more deeply sampled and complex, based on sample size and what I can hear, than the piano patches in ST4, Yet a single ST4 piano patch can overload one of my cores if I hold a chord with 2 hands...

I am an iK lover and own the whole product range and a good chunk of the hardware too. I love T-Racks and amplitube in terms of how awesome they sound and how efficiently they are programmed.I can have 20 instances of T-racks open and 6 amplitubes and still track at low buffer settings. For some reason, as far back as ST3 and Miroslav 2, I have never been able to get along smoothly with the tank. ST3 would crash within minutes and v4 Just drains my cpu.

I hope they can further optimize ST4 because I don’t plan on updating my pc in the near future and I can still make music without restrictions with the rest of my plugs and vis on this machine.
triggerthehorizon
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 11:39 am

Re: SampleTank 4 [and 4.0.4 + library updates] Now Available

Postby Peter_IK » Thu May 09, 2019 6:20 pm

triggerthehorizon wrote:I am under the impression 4.0.4 is still far from optimized cpu wise. I have an old machine, an I7 3770k with 32gb of ram and my Samples are on an SSD. Still, I can load an 18 gig piano patch with full fx chains using 10% of a single CPU core from competing 3rd party kontakt libraries, sounds that are more deeply sampled and complex, based on sample size and what I can hear, than the piano patches in ST4, Yet a single ST4 piano patch can overload one of my cores if I hold a chord with 2 hands...

I am an iK lover and own the whole product range and a good chunk of the hardware too. I love T-Racks and amplitube in terms of how awesome they sound and how efficiently they are programmed.I can have 20 instances of T-racks open and 6 amplitubes and still track at low buffer settings. For some reason, as far back as ST3 and Miroslav 2, I have never been able to get along smoothly with the tank. ST3 would crash within minutes and v4 Just drains my cpu.

I hope they can further optimize ST4 because I don’t plan on updating my pc in the near future and I can still make music without restrictions with the rest of my plugs and vis on this machine.

This is not the normal behavior. 4.0.4 is an extreme optimization with reported results of massive reductions in resource usage. I assume you have a ticket open so the support team can help you with this issue?
IK Multimedia. Musicians First.
YouTube - Facebook - Twitter
Need help? Our support team will be happy to help and can be reached at this link.
User avatar
Peter_IK
Kingpin
 
Posts: 13740
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:40 pm
Location: Everywhere

Re: SampleTank 4 [and 4.0.4 + library updates] Now Available

Postby nester1212 » Sat May 25, 2019 5:15 am

Installed ST 4.0.4 today.
Standalone crashes when switching to ASIO.
Studio One 4.5 crushes when inserting the ST4 instrument.
Very disappointing...
nester1212
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 5:27 pm

Re: SampleTank 4 [and 4.0.4 + library updates] Now Available

Postby halfcack » Sat May 25, 2019 5:44 am

Peter_IK wrote:
triggerthehorizon wrote:I am under the impression 4.0.4 is still far from optimized cpu wise. I have an old machine, an I7 3770k with 32gb of ram and my Samples are on an SSD. Still, I can load an 18 gig piano patch with full fx chains using 10% of a single CPU core from competing 3rd party kontakt libraries, sounds that are more deeply sampled and complex, based on sample size and what I can hear, than the piano patches in ST4, Yet a single ST4 piano patch can overload one of my cores if I hold a chord with 2 hands...

I am an iK lover and own the whole product range and a good chunk of the hardware too. I love T-Racks and amplitube in terms of how awesome they sound and how efficiently they are programmed.I can have 20 instances of T-racks open and 6 amplitubes and still track at low buffer settings. For some reason, as far back as ST3 and Miroslav 2, I have never been able to get along smoothly with the tank. ST3 would crash within minutes and v4 Just drains my cpu.

I hope they can further optimize ST4 because I don’t plan on updating my pc in the near future and I can still make music without restrictions with the rest of my plugs and vis on this machine.

This is not the normal behavior. 4.0.4 is an extreme optimization with reported results of massive reductions in resource usage. I assume you have a ticket open so the support team can help you with this issue?
I did double the ram on the MacBook Air. I did one thing right. It is quick with the full GB loaded, ST3 Stand Alone and ST4 stand alone loaded.

GB is really huge. I didn’t do my homework. I think I can work on one song until I get disc storage low or none.

Keep at it, it will eventually work. It has to find the stuff. It was operator error on all issues but wow, did it take a long time to get there. It’s worth it. With the NI A 61 controlling everything there will be a time when I rarely have to touch the pad.

Just being able to use transport controls to stop, clear, record, undo track, is such an awesome feeling all of you have experienced a long time ago. It is so great to have finally had it word.

Hey, if anyone knows what I can transfer over to my SSD external drive please let me know. I have all the packages I downloaded for install on both which would open up gigs of space on the MacBook. Thank you.
Last edited by halfcack on Sat May 25, 2019 6:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
halfcack
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2016 11:30 pm

Re: SampleTank 4 [and 4.0.4 + library updates] Now Available

Postby halfcack » Sat May 25, 2019 5:47 am

syd4444 wrote:Many Thanks, I've went back to using ST3 til I'm satisfied I've solved the problem. Maybe my set up is just a bit too old and slow to handle ST4 but it is still usable for using single instruments then freezing the track in Logic to save capacity.

I don’t know who recommended using ST3 but thank you.
halfcack
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2016 11:30 pm

Re: SampleTank 4 [and 4.0.4 + library updates] Now Available

Postby halfcack » Sat May 25, 2019 6:03 am

halfcack wrote:
syd4444 wrote:I recently upgraded to 4.04 and it runs perfectly in stand alone mode but when I try to use it with Logic Pro X I now have a midi delay making it unplayable. I've tried changing the streaming settings but nothing gets rid of the delay. Has anyone else experienced this problem.
Yup, of all things, I ran into it last night. I twisted some knobs and it went away, came back then went away for good.

It was the same as hiss that was coming out of the Mac, that went away too. Sorry, not much help, if any.

I found after it loses all the ‘lectricity, overnight, it usually cures the problem.

Best to you, most problems occur for me when I try to go fast.
I had the same problem and it made no sense to me at all, in fact it sounded analog with nothing plugged in. Thankfully I don’t get embarrassed. It would come and go during working with GB. It really baffled me. Finally, I accidentally hear it start to diminish in volume.

Not embarrassed, I found along with ambient noise in the room, it was the fan. The FAN.

I didn’t know a MacBook Air had a fan. With all of it programs running it still even got louder. Then one day I get the no storage notice. The cpu and internal SSD must have been really hot.

Apparently Apple admitted the keyboard is defective. Apple is going to fix the keyboard which something is wrong with. I am wondering if there is room for another ssd or bigger ssd drive and some more space for ram while they are in there.

Finally, would Best Buy be the best place to have it fixed ? Thank you !
halfcack
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2016 11:30 pm

Re: SampleTank 4 [and 4.0.4 + library updates] Now Available

Postby richmn » Thu Jul 04, 2019 4:07 pm

So in case you don't check obsessively like I do...4.0.5 is available!

Added Tooltip display when hovering over the main bar icons
Added assigned note info for instruments with multiple articulations
Improved smooth scrolling in Library browser
Selecting “Load Instrument” now focuses on the corresponding Part number
Optimized character limit for Part/Note value input in virtual pads
Loading Syntronik Multis now remove previously loaded instruments on Parts 5-16
Fixed built-in Mod Wheel not sending MIDI CC values to assigned MIDI correctly
Fixed an issue with Pads Mode not reacting properly after recalling saved project
Fixed an issue with Auto Pan potentially affecting audio when depth set to 0
A Sound Library Update 1.4 is available. This adds new Brass and Woodwind instruments with key-switchable articulations and fixes an issue with Trombone 2 Staccato not installed properly (available for ST4 MAX and Standard only)
Added a new key switch articulation instrument: Cuban Trumpet (available for ST4 MAX and Standard only)
richmn
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 8:18 am

PreviousNext

Return to Virtual Instruments: SampleTank, Hammond B-3X, More